Nepal Communist Party unveils provincial panels

- TIKA R PRADHAN, Kathmandu

Dec 4, 2018-

The ruling Nepal Communist Party has announced the members nominated to its seven provincial committees by a recent meeting of its central secretariat.

General Secretary Bishnu Poudel announced the committees after NCP Co-chairmen KP Sharma Oli and Pushpa Kamal Dahal gave their finishing touches on Sunday.

On September 21, the party secretariat had appointed chairpersons, secretaries, those in charge and their deputies for all the provinces. Senior leaders Madhav Kumar Nepal and NCP Spokesman Narayan Kaji Shrestha had challenged the decisions.

The duo agreed to accept the decision after the leadership promised to present the dispute to the Standing Committee. According to the fresh decision, 122 members are from the erstwhile CPN-UML and 85 from the then CPN (Maoist Centre) making it to the 207-strong Province 1 committee.

For the Province 2 committee, 106 members have been nominated from each faction while 116 from the then UML and 101 from the disbanded Maoist party have been named for the Province 3 committee that has 217 members in total.

In Gandaki Province, the party has picked 102 members from the UML stream and 85 from the Maoist camp while 106 leaders come from the former and 97 from the latter in Province 5.

In Karnali Province, the party has nominated 87 from the UML and 88 from the Maoist faction. The number for Sudurpaschim Province is 100 leaders from the UML and 83 from the Maoist Centre.

All the nominations will be endorsed by the Standing Committee, whose meeting has yet to be scheduled.

Published: 04-12-2018 07:49

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment

Main News