Birgunj edge Kolkata in Bishal Gold Cup


Jan 13, 2019-

Hosts Birgunj XI defeated visiting Kolkata Southern Samiti 4-1 on penalties to win the second Bishal Gold Cup football tournament that kicked off on Saturday at the Narayani Stadium in Birgunj. 

The match was directly decided from the spot after the regulation 90-minute time finished at goalless deadlock. Birgunj goalie Dipesh Yadav, who was also declared the-man-of-the-match, denied two goals from the spot to the delight of the hosts. Ziver Lakara was the only player from the visiting team to convert the penalty. Yadav had denied Suvanakar Das and Tanmaya Ghosh. Krishna Shakya, Anuj Singh, Kripakanta Chaudhary and Sishes Thapa all converted their spotkicks for Birgunj. 

The event, organised by Bishal Memorial Foundation, features eight teams including two foreign invitees – Kolkata and Siliguri Royal FC — apart from ‘A’ Division outfits Nepal APF Club, Tribhuvan Army Club and Himalayan Sherpa. Nawa Janajagriti Youth Club of Simara, Jhapa XI and hosts Birgunj are other participating teams. APF will vie against Himalayan Sherpa on Sunday. The winners will get purse of Rs 555,555 and the runners up will walk away with Rs 277,777. The best player of the tournament will ride a two wheeler.

Published: 13-01-2019 07:34

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment