Nepal finish group winners

  • Women’s Twenty20 Smash
- Sports Bureau, Kathmandu

Jan 17, 2019-

Nepal finished Group ‘A’ winners of the Thailand Women’s Twenty20 Smash on Wednesday running riot over a second-string Thailand team at Terdthai Cricket Ground in Bangkok. 

Already in the semi-finals with one match in hand, Nepal hammered Thailand ‘A’ by nine wickets after bundling out the opponents for tournament’s second lowest 19 in 15.4 overs. Nepal reached the target in just 3.3 overs losing one wicket. 

Nepal finished at the top of the table with maximum eight points from four matches and will now meet Group ‘B’ runners-up Indonesia in the last four. The first choice Thailand team, also the title contenders, won Group ‘B’ with eight points and will meet Group ‘A’ runners-up the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in the other semi-final. Both the semi-finals are scheduled for Friday.

The day was all about Nepali bowling which never allowed Thailand ‘A’ to settle in from the start. Aarati Bidari, making her debut for the national team, picked up three wickets giving away just five runs in her four-over spell. Bidari was later adjudged the player-of-the-match. 

Sarita Magar (2-4) and Indu Barma (2-2) shared four wickets between them, while skipper Rubina Chhetri and Sonu Khadka returned with an identical figures of 1-3 from their respective three-over spells. 

Thanchanok Phopluk was the only Thailand ‘A’ batswoman to resist Nepali attack for long facing 24 deliveries and scoring four runs. Five Thailand ‘A’ batswomen failed to open their account while the entire team was unable to hit even a single boundary.

The seven extras Nepal gifted in the match was biggest contributor for Thailand ‘A’ in their scorecard. In Group ‘B’, Thailand had bundled out China for a tournament-low 14 in one of league games. 

Nepal lost their opener Mamata Kumari Chaudhary in the chase before Nary Thapa (five) and Dolly Bhatta (two) sailed the team home.


Nepal 20-1 in 3.3 overs (MK Chaudhary 8, Nary Thapa 5 not out, Dolly Bhatta 2 not out) beat Thailand ‘A’ 19 all out in 15.4 overs (T Phopluk 4 not out, W Saensong 3; A Bidari 3-5, S Magar 2-4, I Barma 2-2) by nine wickets

Player-of-the-match: A Bidari (NEP)

Published: 17-01-2019 08:31

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment