Dauphins dash Dharan dreams

- Pradeep Menyangbo, DHARAN

Feb 17, 2019-

Visiting Dauphins Family of Cameroon shattered hosts Dharan Football Club’s dreams of winning a maiden Budha Subba Gold Cup title after a 3-2 tiebreaker victory at Dharan Stadium on Saturday.  

Hosts Dharan are yet to win the title coming into 21st edition of the tournament despite making into finals on four occasions. Despite the roaring support from local spectators, Dharan failed to get on the scoresheet during regulation period as the match finished goalless. The match was then directly decided from the spot.

Dauphins, who had come fresh from the title triumph of Pokhara Cup last Saturday on Kaski, got the better of hosts despite playing in the semi-finals just a day earlier against Nepal Police Club.

Jo Anjola, Pentenga and Yannick Owona converted from the spot while Wiyik Wiyik and Alvin missed the target. Prakash Budathoki and Dorji Tamang were only successful penalty takers for the hosts as Milan Rai, Yogesh Gurung and Hemanta Thapa Magar failed to convert. Winners Dauphins bagged a purse of Rs 800,000 and Dharan received Rs 400,000.

Priso of Dauphins was named the best goalkeeper and his coach Aral Immem won the award for best coach. Dharan’s Manoj Rai won the best defender award and his teammates Hemanta Thapa Magar Milan Rai were named best midfielder and forward. All of them received Rs 25,000 each.

Visiting team’s Yannick won highest scorer award for his two goals and bagged Rs 35,000. Dharan goalie Binay Shrestha was declared the-man-of-the-final and got Rs 15,000. Veteran defender Bishnu Sunuwar of hosts was declared the best player and rode a two-wheeler. Province 1 Chief Minister Sher Dhan Rai among others distributed prizes to the winners.

Published: 17-02-2019 08:59

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment