Bogati claims first ever national snooker title

- Sports Bureau, Kathmandu

Mar 24, 2019-

Nirman Bogati of Kavre claimed the first Sakura National Snooker Tournament title on Saturday. In the best of 11 final at the Sakura Snooker Club in Jamal, Bogati defeated Amir Shrestha of Tanahu 64-53, 52-64, 111-23, 116-37, 124-12, 2-113, 34-58, 84-34, 108-30. It was 17th career title for Bogati who claimed his maiden national title.

Shrestha was playing his first ever tournament. Champion Bogati got Rs 110,00 and runner-up Shrestha took Rs 40,000. Bogati also claimed the most break award with 93 to his name. Sanjaya Bajracharya of Sunsari was adjudged the best player of the tournament.

Former Deputy Prime Minister Prakash Man Singh, Nepal Billiards, Pool and Snooker Association President and four-time former national champion Saroj Kumar Mulmi among others handed over the prizes to the winners.

A total of 128 players had participated in the tournament which also served as selection of players for the first ever SAARC Snooker Championship to be held in Dhaka, Bangladesh from July 20-27. The top eight players from this tournament will join eight others from the national team who were barred from participating in the event.

The association will now host another round of selection tournament beginning from Monday. Only the top two players from Monday’s selection tournament will book tickets to Bangladesh, with other six rounding up inside the top eight finishes finding their place in the national team.

Wangchu Chaap, Bikesh Rai, Sanjay Bajracharya, Udip Shakya, Aayush Gautam and Phuri Sherpa were the other players rounding inside the top 10 from Sakura National. They will be joining top eight seeds Rajan Lama, Regan Shrestha, Bikash Shrestha, Som Lama, Deepak Magar, Aman Karki, Sujen Shahi and Moti Lama in the selection tournament.

According to Association General Secretary Keshav Raj Adhikari, the 16 players will first compete in a knock out format from where eight players will make it to the second round. The eight players will then be divided into two pools for final round with the winner from each pool competing in the SAARC Snooker Championship.

Published: 24-03-2019 10:23

Next Story

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment