Karnali beat Laligurans in opener

- Sports Bureau, Kathmandu

Apr 26, 2019-

Karnali XI beat Laligurans Cricket Club of Jhapa by eight wickets in the opening match of the Karnali Premier League Twenty20 cricket tournament in Surkhet on Thursday.

Batting first, Laligurans were bowled out for a lowly 101 in the last ball of their innings. Karnali overcame the target for the loss of two wicket in 14.2 overs. Ronak Daxini top scored for Lalilgurans with a quickfire 21 off 13 balls with four hits to the fence. Ajay Yadav also slammed 19-ball 20 with one six and a four while Yash Kanadiya (16), Dipen Yogi (15) and Pranav Shah (13) were also among the runs to help Laligurans reach the triple figure mark. Man-of-the-match Kishore Mahato and Diwan Pun claimed three wickets each while Jitendra Singh Thakuri bagged two wickets for Karnali.

In reply, Karnali lost opener Pradeep Rasaili (6) cheaply but Rabindra Jung Shahi and Nischal Rawal put on 79-run second wicket stand to virtually seal the match. Sahi remained unbeaten on 45 3 while Rawal was out for 31 with eight runs shy of their victory target. Sahi hit six fours and a six in 47 ball knock while Rawal hit four boundaries in his 30-ball innings.

In all eight teams are divided into two pools of four. Tribhuvan Army Club, Midwest Cricket Club Banke, Karnali XI and Laligurans are in Group ‘A’ while Group ‘B’ consists of Nepal APF Club, Mahendranagar Cricket Academy of Kanchanpur, New Horizon of Butwal and Himalayan Cricket Academy of Kathmandu. Top two teams will qualify for the semi-finals. The champions will receive Rs 500,000 and the runners-up will get Rs 200,000. Player of the tournament will receive Rs 50,000 while the best bowler and batsman will earn Rs 20,000 each. New Horizon will take on Mahen-dranagar Academy while Tribhuvan Army Club will meet Laligurans on Friday.

Published: 26-04-2019 08:45

Next Story

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment