Acharya’s team wins Pro-Am title of Premier Golf Championship

- Sports Bureau, Kathmandu

May 18, 2019-

The team of professional golfer Deepak Acharya clinched the Pro-Am title of Surya Nepal Premier Golf Championship at the par-72 Gokarna Golf Club on Friday. Acharya was teamed with amateurs Sadbhav Acharya, Hridesh Kumar Singh, and Kalsang L Sherpa. The team accumulated a total 166 points with Acharya contributing 39, Sadbhav 45, Hridesh 43 and Kalsang 39. The team of pro Sachin Bhattarai (38) and amateurs Kashmira Shah (38), Tendi Sherpa (37), and Rabindra Tiwari (36) finished second with a total 149 points.

The team of professional golfer Tashi Ghale, who scored 38 points, and amateurs Bharat Bastakoti (35), Madan Rana (34) and Hemant Thapa (34) ended up in third place with 141 points.Kashmira Shah also claimed a trophy for best the individual ladies’ score with 38 points. Wangchen Dhondup won the longest drive and Tulasi Bhatta the closest-to-the-pin awards. In all, 97 golfers including 25 pros took part in the event played under stableford 3/4 handicap format. Top pro scorer was automatically teamed with top three amateurs for the winning team. Similarly, fourth, fifth and sixth amateur scorers were teamed with second best professional for runner-up team and those amateurs finishing seventh, eighth and ninth were teamed up with the third best professional for the second runner-up team.

The main tournament finished on Thursday with amateur golfer Sukra Bahadur Rai clinching the title. Rai edged out defending champion Bhuwan Nagarkoti by a stroke in the ninth and final event of the Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2018-19. By winning the title, Rai became the first amateur to win two pro titles in a season. His first pro trophy of the season came in December last year where he won the Eastern Open title.

Published: 18-05-2019 08:54

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment