India, Pakistan set title clash as Nepal finish winless

- Sports Bureau, Kathmandu

May 18, 2019-

India and Pakistan set the title clash of the Wheelchair Asia Cup cricket tournament here at the Tribhuvan University Stadium in Kirtipur on Friday. India beat Bangladesh by 30 runs while Pakistan hammered home team Nepal by 130 runs in the last round matches. The result meant India finished their league campaign on maximum six points from three matches. Pakistan ended up in second with four points, their only defeat coming against the table-topper India. Bangladesh ended in third with two points courtesy their win over hosts Nepal. Nepal finished pointless with defeats in all three games.

In the first match, Pakistan posted a mammoth 269-4 in 20 overs with Muhammad Latif scoring a big century. Nepal replied with 139-6 in 20 overs. Man-of-the-match Lalit alone scored more than half the team’s total. The No 4 batsman clobbered 23 fours and six sixes in his 55-ball 146. Skipper Sajid Ali Abbasi also slammed a quickfire 62, his 36 ball knock included 12 hits to the fence. Dambar Magar and Yam Bahadur Shrestha took one wicket each for Nepal.

In reply, Nepal lost three quick wickets but skipper Dagam Singh Chemjung held firm to give his team some stability. Chemjung fell three runs short of his half century. His 56-ball knock included five fours. Sagar Pandey also contributed 30 and Homnath Rai 16 but Nepal were never a threat to Pakistan. Muhammad Fiaz claimed two while Muhammad Bilal and Adnan Nisar bagged a wicket each for Pakistan.

In the day’s second game, India scored 203-3 and restricted Bangladesh for 173-7. Three top order batsmen did the bulk of the scoring for India with opener Saurabh Malik making 80. Man-of-the-match Malik hit 12 fours in his 48-ball knock. Malik’s opening partner Parashuram Desale also hit 19-ball 31 but it was No 3 batsman Nikul Prajapati who helped lift the India total. Prajapati struck 38-ball 65 with 13 hits to the fence. Mohammad Rajon Hossain took two and Muhammad Ramin Shaikh claimed one wicket for Bangladesh.

Bangladesh put on a great fight but eventually fell short of their victory target. Sajjad Hossain scored 36-ball 54 with nine boundaries while Muhammad Mithun made 32. Hossain’s opening partner Jabed Ahmed also chipped in with 30. Vishwanath Gurav and Mukesh Tyagi claimed two wickets each for India.

Published: 18-05-2019 08:52

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment