Govt appoints members to Planning Comission

- POST REPORT, Kathmandu

May 16, 2014-

The government on Friday appointed seven members at the National Planning Commission (NPC) giving it full shape. The latest appointments follows the appointment of the vice-chairman a week ago.

A Cabinet meeting on Friday took a decision to this effect. The newly appointed members of the planning comission are Swarnim Wagle, Bharatendra Mishra, Bimala Rai, Chandramani Adhikari, Govinda Nepal, Yagya Bahadur Karki and Prem Prasad Dangal.

The NPC has got a full shape after a long time. Former Vice-Chairman Rabindra Kumar Shakya, appointed by the Khil Raj Regmi-led government, led the planning body without a member for around a year before resigning.

Shakya’s predecessor Dipendra Bahadur Kshetry had led a four-member NPC team, including Janak Raj Sah, Shiva Kumar Rai and Abdul Rahim Mikrani.

A senior NPC official said the appointment of new members will help take ahead the institutions smoothly. “As plan is a political economic document, the political leadership makes it easier for bureaucrats to work,” said the official.

Published: 17-05-2014 09:38

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment