16-member Standing Committee in UCPN (Maoist)

- POST REPORT, Kathmandu

May 26, 2014-

The UCPN (Maoist) on Monday elected a 16-member Standing Committee. Though 151 Central Committee members were eligible to vote, only 116 participated in the election process as the Baburam Bhattarai faction opted out of the poll.

Posta Bahadur Bogati was elected with the highest number of votes (103 out of 116) while senior leader Baburam Bhattarai was elected with 99, Barshaman Pun with 94 votes and Janardan Sharma with 92 votes. However, spokesman Dina Nath Sharma and leader Lila Mani Pokhrel, who had been on the committee since 2009, lost the election.

Others to make it to the powerful panel are Krishna Bahadur Mahara, Haribol Gajurel, Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Agni Sapkota, Shakti Basnet, Giriraj Mani Pokhrel, Lokendra Bista Magar, Top Bahadur Rayamajhi, Nanda Bahadur Pun, Chakra Pani Khanal, Devendra Poudel and Gopal Kirati. Eleven are from the Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal faction, three from Bhattarai faction and two from the Shrestha faction. Though elected to the powerful party committee, leaders loyal to Bhattarai faction said they are not ready to assume their new positions and will remain as CC members.

Meanwhile, the party said the election for the nine-member Office Bearers will take place on Tuesday.

Published: 27-05-2014 08:37

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment