UCPN (Maoist) fills up key posts

  • Party to decide CC leaders responsibilities today
- POST REPORT, Kathmandu
UCPN (Maoist) fills up key posts

May 31, 2014-

The UCPN (Maoist) has allocated the responsibilities for the leaders of Office Bearers, Standing Committee and Politburo amid discontent among leaders in the Baburam Bhattarai faction.  

The Central Committee (CC) meeting on Saturday endorsed the responsibilities of top leaders, while responsibilities of CC members will be decided on Sunday. Party Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal will be in overall charge of the party, while Bhattarai will take the responsibility of Parliament and party’s research department as a senior leader.  

Vice-chairman Narayan Kaji Shrestha has been entrusted with the responsibility of international bureau.

Another Vice-chairman Post Bahadur Bogati will take charge of party’s organisational and monitoring department, with party General Secretary Krishna Bahadur Mahara serving as the secretary. Lila Mani Pokhrel, Dina Nath Sharma, Ram Chandra Jha, Urmila Aryal, Lekhraj Bhatta, Hemanta Prakash Oli—all close to party Chairman Dahal—have been appointed members in the department.

Top Bahadur Rayamajhi, a leader close to Bhattarai, has been appointed deputy Parliamentary Party leader. Dahal, who is serving as the party’s Parliamentary Party leader,  wanted Bhattarai as his deputy but changed his mind after the latter rejected the offer.  

Barsha Man Pun will serve as the head of schooling department, while Giriraj Mani Pokhrel has been appointed as party’s Chief Whip in Parliament. Dahal’s close confidante Haribol Gajurel has been nominated as chief of finance department. The CC members will be formally assigned their respective responsibilities on Sunday.

The party is planning to send CC members to 75 districts for enhancing the party organisations. “There are several flaws in the allocation of responsibilities. However, we are ready to serve in the party as CC members,” said Devendra Poudel, a leader close to Bhattarai.

Leaders of the Bhattarai faction, who refused to be members of party’s Office Bearer, Standing Committee and Politburo, have all been denied key responsibilities in the party. The Dahal faction, however, claimed they had taken the decision as the Bhattarai faction was not ready assume those responsibilities.

Published: 01-06-2014 09:17

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment