5-party Maoist bloc agrees rota system

- POST REPORT, Kathmandu

Jun 26, 2014-

The five Maoist parties on Thursday finally reached an agreement for a rotational leadership of their working alliance they constituted today itself with an aim “to ensure a pro-people constitution with an identity-based federalism”.

A meeting of the UCPN(Maoist), CPN-Maoist, CPN(Maoist) led by Matrika Yadav, Revolutionary Communist Centre led by Mani Thapa and CPN(United) led by Pari Thapa made such a decision on the basis of the report submitted by a cross-party taskforce formed five days ago. They also agreed to form a mechanism called ‘Working Alliance Committee’ to work together on common agendas.

“We have formally decided to forge a working alliance of revolutionary parties,” said Ram Srisha Singh, a member of the task force.

The meeting held at UCPN (Maoist) party office also passed the procedures and policy of the working alliance. However, the five Maoist parties will make a formal announcement of the working alliance as well as other decisions taken today by organising a press meet on June 28.  

Earlier, the task of forming the alliance was delayed due to the dispute over the leadership and name of the cross-party mechanism. The five parties also decided to hit the streets to ensure “a pro-people constitution that will liberate the oppressed and marginalised communities”.

Apart from forging alliance with splinter groups, UCPN (Maoist) Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal is preparing to make another alliance with the like-minded parties inside the Constituent Assembly. Leaders close to Dahal said there will be an alliance with the parties inside and outside the CA who stand in favour of the identity-based federalism. Dahal on Thursday held discussions with some Madhes-based parties saying that they have a similar position on the issues related to the new constitution.

Soon after the second CA election, Dahal had forged an alliance with Madhes-based parties.

However, the UCPN (Maoist) and Madhes-based parties had already come closer during the formation of Baburam Bhattarai-led government in 2011. Furthermore, both Maoist and Madhes-based parties claim that they are “progressive forces” while charging the Nepali Congress and CPN-UML of being “regressive forces”.

Published: 27-06-2014 08:41

Next Story

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment