Panel okays separate medical varsity plan

- POST REPORT, Kathmandu

Jul 22, 2014-

An expert committee formed to determine whether the country needs a separate medical university, as demanded by Dr Govinda KC of TU Teaching Hospital (TUTH), has given its green signal for the establishment of such a university.

The committee, in its final report, has said that there is indeed a need for a separate medical university, and that all the new medical colleges which are awaiting affiliations should be allowed to function under that university.

Dr Ramesh Kanta Adhikari, chairman of the committee and former dean of Institute of Medicine (IoM), said the report has been already submitted to Minister of Education Chitra Lekha Yadav. He said that they have strongly focused on regulatory mechanism of the proposed medical university after it grants affiliation to medical colleges which fulfils all norms. “Some of the members had also opposed the idea of forming a separate medical university citing that it would not solve the prevailing problems,” said one of the members of the committee requesting anonymity. The members had argued that lack of separate medical university has not in any way hampered production of doctors in the country. However, during the final stage of the report preparation, all the members had agreed to give their consent to the establishment of a seperate medical university.  The committee has recommended that IoM has to be given maximum autonomy on resource mobilisation so that it could function on its own or IoM itself could be converted into a seperate medical university.

The report also says that as the government has failed to regulate private medical institutions, which have resulted in inflated healthcare costs, and medical education has gone beyond the reach of the poor, it has suggested formation of a strong regulatory mechanism to counter the same. The nine member committee led by Dr Adhikari had Dr Arjun Karki, former Vice Chancellor of Patan Academy of Health Sciences, Dr Jagdish Agrawal of TUTH, Dr Baburam Marasini of the Ministry of Health and Population, Dr Anjani Kumar Jha, President of Nepal Medical Association, among others, as members including Mahashram Sharma, joint secretary of Ministry of Education, as member secretary.

Published: 23-07-2014 08:52

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment