Six Envoy nominees get House Approval

- POST REPORT, Kathmandu

Sep 22, 2014-

The Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee on Monday endorsed the six names recommended for the position of ambassadors. A meeting of the committee approved Khaganath Adhikari as the ambassador for Thailand, Deepak Dhital for Switzerland (Geneva), Ambika Devi Luitel for France, Kali Prasad Pokhrel for Canada, Yagya Bahadur Hamal for Kuwait, and Amrit Bahadur Rai for South Africa. Pokharel, Dhital and Luitel testified before the committee last week while the remaining three appeared before it on Monday.

The government had on September 4 recommended six joint-secretaries at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for the ambassadorial posts.

After the parliamentary clearance, the names will be forwarded to the concerned countries, seeking approval. President Ram Baran Yadav will finally make a formal announcement of their appointment.

Published: 23-09-2014 09:20

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment