Baitadi set title clash with Pokhara

- POST REPORT, Kathmandu
Baitadi set title clash with Pokhara

Sep 24, 2014-

Region No. 6 (Baitadi) defeated Region No. 4 (Bhairahawa) by 34 runs to enter the Wai Wai U-19 National Cricket Tournament final on Wednesday.

In a low-scoring semi-final match at the Tribhuvan University Stadium, Baitadi were bundled out for a meager 139 in 29.3 overs with their middle order giving respectability to the total. Naresh Thapa then picked up four wickets as Bhairahawa were 105 all out in 28.1 overs. Baitadi will meet Region No. 7 (Pokhara) in Thursday’s final.

Bhairhawa lost opener Nurdhoj Sen (0) early in the chase but No 3 batsman Shankar Rana and Sandeep Sunar (16) brought their team back in the game with a 47-run stand. Arun Airee broke the stand with a dismissal of the Sunar. Rana, who made 49 off 59 with eight fours, lost his wicket to Kamal Airee but Bhairahawa were still in the chase needing 68 runs with seven wickets in hand and plenty of overs left.

Their lower middle and lower order batsmen, however, caved in losing the last seven wickets for 19 runs after man-of-the-match Thapa taking four wickets. Saurav Khanal (14) and Kushal Bhurtel (11) were the other Bhairahawa batsmen to make runs in double figures. Skipper Prem Tamang and Arun Airee ended claiming two wickets each.

Earlier, Baitadi had a shaky start as they lost openers Bikesh Bam (6) and Aayushman Bam (5) with 25 runs on the board. Arun Airee and Dilip Nath consolidated the innings with a 49-run stand for the fourth wicket. Their innings then began to crumble with the dismissal of Arun, who made 25 off 47.

Nath soon followed Arun making 26 off 44. Kamal Airee was their next best batsman with run-a-ball 20. Umesh Pahari (12) was the remaining batsmen to make runs in double figures.

Bishal Sunar picked up three wickets for Bhairahawa with Saurav Khanal and Rahul Bhattarai also taking two wickets apiece.


Published: 25-09-2014 09:45

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment