31 Bhaktapur schools enlisted for merger

- POST REPORT, Kathmandu

Oct 7, 2014-

The monitoring committees formed to inspect the public schools in Bhaktapur have given a green signal to the District Education Office (DEO) for the merger of

nearly three dozen schools in the district.

The four committees led by members of District Education Committee (DEC) gave the approval for the plan of the DEO to merge 31 public schools with low enrolment rates. The Office decided to merge one-fourth of 137 public schools from the district after they failed to attract the students. Around a dozen of such schools do not even have a single enrolment while the enrolment in the remaining schools are just in single digit.

 According to District Education Officer Rama Kanta Sharma, the monitoring committees were formed to suggest the process for the merger plan. The merger plan will be executed once the DEC gives its final approval.

Sharma said the schools with inadequate enrolment rates will be merged with closest school in the locality so that the students do not face any problem going to school. Out 31 schools proposed for merger, 10 are from city area in Bhaktapur Municipality and Madhyapur Thimi Municipality.  Though the number of private schools in the district is soaring every year, a majority among 642 public schools from the Valley have been failing to attract students. The number of private and institutional schools stands at 1,400 in the Valley at present.

Continuous drop in the enrolment rate had prompted the government to come up with a merger plan. The government has set a target to merge at least 200 schools this fiscal year as the number of students in the school level declined by more than 300,000 in just two years

Schools getting merged     Schools to get merged with

Bishnu Lower Secondary (LS) School, Gundu    Jyoti Secondary School, Gundu

Bhim Primary School, Gundu    Jyoti Secondary School, Gundu

Sushil Bhairav Primary School, Katunje    Mahendra LS School, Katunje

Chitrapur Primary School, Dadhikot    Araniko HS School, Dadhikot

Balkot Primary School, Balkot     Mahendra Shanti School, Balkot

Primary Lokanthali, MTM    Adarsa HS School Sanothimi

Balbhakta Primary School, Changu    Krishna Primary School Changu

Balbodh Shanti LS School, BM    Sarada HS School, BM

Janasewa Primary School, BM    Tara Secondary School, BM

Uday Primary School, BM    Kanya Co-Education Secondary School, BM

Shanti Bhairav Primary School, Nangkhel    Bhubaneshor Secondary School, Nangkhel

Nawajyoti Primary School, Chittapol    Jorpati HS School, Nangkhel

Bhagwati Primary School, Chittapol    Mahakaleshwor Primary, Chitapol

Samaj Sewa Institute Primary, BM    Mahendra Primary Jela, BM

Dhaula Primary School, BM    Bharati Primary School, BM

Manakamana Primary School, Chhaling    Panchakanya Primary School, Chhaling

Nateshwori Primary School, Chhaling    Gyanjyoti LS School, Chhaling

Mahakali Primary School, Chhaling     Ganesh Secondary School, Chhaling

Krishna Primary School, Sudal    Panchakanya Secondary School, Sudal

Saya Bangal Primary School, Sudal    Mahendra HS School, Sudal

Dakshinkali Primary School, Tathali     Devi HS School, Tathali

Siddhisarada Primary School, BM    Shree Primary School Yachhe, BM

Bardayani Primary School, BM    Nabin LS School, BM

Changunarayan Primary School, Changu    Dolagiri HS School, Changu

Balchetana Primary School, Dadhikot    Kul Maya Bhagwati LS School, Dadhikot

Upayogi Primary, Sirutar    Som Lingeshwor Primary, Sirutar

Sishu Shyar Primary School, Sirutar    Sirutar Secondary School, Sirutar

Himalaya Primary     MTM, Balsewa LS School, MTM

Janabikash Primary, Gundu    Bhairavi LS School, Gundu

Pranodaya Primary School, MTM    Adarsha HS School, MTM


Published: 08-10-2014 09:24

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment