Hearing panel approves NHRC nominations

- POST REPORT, Kathmandu

Oct 17, 2014-

The Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee on Friday endorsed all five office bearers nominated for the National Human Rights Commission. The Constitutional Council in September had recommended former Chief Justice Anup Raj Sharma as NHRC chairperson.

Members include former Justice Prakash Osti, senior advocate Govinda Sharma Poudel, rights advocates Sudip Pathak and Mohona Ansari. With the approval of the recommendation, the national human rights watchdog positions, which were vacant for more than a year, have been filled.

NHRC top post remained vacant after then Chairman Kedar Nath Upadhyay as well as commissioners Gauri Pradhan, Ram Nagina Singh, Lila Pathak and KB Rokaya retired in September last year. Following the approval, either the new NHRC chief or a commissioner appointed by the chair would be a member of the Recommendation Committee for Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

At least two petitions challenging the recommendation committee remain sub judice at the Supreme Court. The endorsement of the new office bearers comes amid boycott by some lawmakers arguing that the recommendation was “non-inclusive”.

The hearing committee had written to the Council seeking explanation as to why the recommendation was not inclusive, to which the constitutional body responded saying the recommendations came in line with constitutional provisions. Dissatisfied with the reply, lawmakers, including Gopal Dahit, Shiva Lal Thapa and Ram Kumar Rai, boycotted the hearing process.

Published: 18-10-2014 09:22

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment