Security arrangements over

- Manish Gautam, Kathmandu

Nov 24, 2014-

The government has completed its security arrangements for high-level delegates that are arriving in the Capital on Tuesday for the 18th Saarc Summit. The heads of state and government from eight nations will attend the summit on November 26-27.

Ministry of Home Affairs (MoHA) said they have completed all security arrangements, with over 28,000 security forces led by Nepal Army being deployed for the summit. Nepal Police, Armed Police Force and National Investigation Department will perform supporting roles.

Installation of 203 CCTVs have been completed with at least 40 CCTVs keeping an eye on the delegates at the summit venue in City Hall, Exhibition Road. “We have left no stone unturned to ensure safety of foreign delegates,” said MoHA spokesperson Laxmi Dhakal.

The traffic police conducted drills on Monday in various roads stretches where the heads of state and government are likely to pass through. The Kathmandu Metropolitan Traffic Police Division (MTPD) enforced the odd/even vehicle rotation system to ease traffic congestion and movement of delegates from Monday.

Superintendent of Police Basanta Pant, spokesperson of MTPD, said anybody violating the odd and even number rule shall be fined from Tuesday. Following the enforcement of the odd-even number system, limited number of public vehicles plied the roads of Kathmandu.

Traffic police said the Old Bus Park, which is located near the venue of the summit, has been cordoned off, and no public vehicles will be allowed inside or about until the event concludes. Alternative bus stops designated in five areas of the city for pick and drop service have come into effect, said Superintendent of Police Basanta Pant, spokesperson of Kathmandu Metropolitan Traffic Police Division (MTPD).

The MTPD has designated Sano Gaucharan, Lainchaur, Jadibuti, Tribhuvan University Gate and Dhungeadda as alternative stops for vehicles inside and outside the Capital. Sano Gaucharan will be the stop for passenger vehicles plying from Chabahil to Mandikhatar, Kapan, Bouddha, Jorpati, Sankhu, Sundarijal and Gothatar. Similarly, Lainchaur will be the last stop for passengers travelling from Balaju, Banasthali, Tokha, Jhor, Futung and Budanilkantha. Jadibuti will serve as the stop for passenger vehicles coming from Bhaktapur, Banepa and Dhulikhel.

Passenger vehicles from Dakshinkali, Pharping, Kirtipur, Thankot and Swoyambhu will have to make their last stop at the TU Gate, while Dhungeadda will be the stop for vehicles coming from Thankot, Matatirtha, Macchegaun and Naagdhunga.

Published: 25-11-2014 09:05

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment