Radio Kantipur fetes musicians

  • Veteran lyricist Ratna Shamsher Thapa honoured with Lifetime Achievement Award
- POST REPORT, Kathmandu
Radio Kantipur fetes musicians

Dec 5, 2014-

The 16th Radio Kantipur Annual Music Honours was presented at Rastriya Naach Ghar in Jamal, Kathmandu on Friday. Singers and musical acts from different genres were feted at the ceremony organised to mark the anniversary of Radio Kantipur- Radio Rastrako.

The programme kicked off with a rendition of popular song Siri Ma Siri by the Kathmandu University Ethnomusicology Orchestra conducted by Lochan Rijal.

Addressing the award ceremony, Chairman and Managing Director of Kantipur Media Group Kailash Sirohiya congratulated the Radio Kantipur staff and the public support for its success and popularity. “We faced many ups and downs coming to this state. This is an achievement of our teamwork and unfailing public support,” he said.

He also talked about the Kantipur Digital Corp, a foray of Kantipur Media Group into burgeoning multimedia and internet technology to incorporate print and digital media. Chief guest, Minister for Information and Communications Minendra Rijal said development of the free press was indispensable for a democracy to prosper.

He said the evening belonged to singers and musicians, and congratulated all the nominees and winners. This year also marked the 24th death anniversary of Swar Samrat Narayan Gopal. Various artists took to the stage for a tribute concert to late Narayan Gopal.

This year’s lifetime achievement award was given to veteran lyricist Ratna Shamsher Thapa. The award carries a purse of Rs 50,000 cash and an appreciation plaque. The 75-year-old started off writing poetries and songs in 1951. Songs penned by Thapa, including Swarga Ki Rani, Ye Kancha, Bichod ko Pida, Yesti Chha, and Jaga Lamka Chamka Hey,  helped establish late Narayan Gopal as the most popular and respected singer of the country. Thapa also wrote songs for Nepali film such as Simana, Aanaya, and Bhagya Rekha.

This year’s best female radio journalist award was won by Gagan Shila Khakda for her programme ‘Nepal Chautari’. Thompson Nepal Ltd, Avani Advertising Ltd, and Max Media Ltd were awarded the country’s top three advertising companies.

This year, Radio Kantipur had picked 16 of its listeners through lucky draw who got the opportunity to tour all sister organisations of Kantipur Media Group. Six listeners from outside the Kathmandu Valley were also invited to the award ceremony.  “This is my first time in Kathmandu, and I am really happy that to see

my favourite RJs, singers and musicians,” said Bhumika Pun, one of the winners from Nepalgunj.

awarded artists  

Lyrics – Krishna Hari Baral

Male Musician- Hari Lamsal

Female Musician – Milan Amatya   

Male Adhunik Singer – Udaya Sotang

Male Lok Singer - Pashupati  Sharma

Female Loak Singer – Purna Kala BC

Female Pop – Astha Raut

Male Pop – Sugam Pokharel

Best Band - Albatross

Published: 06-12-2014 08:29

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment