Sharma’s team Pro-Am champions

  • Surya Nepal Western Open Pro-Am
- POST REPORT, Pokhara
Sharma’s team Pro-Am champions

Dec 27, 2014-

Professional golfer Surya Prasad Sharma’s team claimed the Surya Nepal Western Open Pro-Am trophy a day after the main tournament ended at the par-70 Himalayan Golf Course in Pokhara on Saturday.

Sharma was drawn with amateurs Rupendra Shrestha, Jiwaram Gurung and Maj Bejoy Moktan and won with 135 points. Sharma scored 32 points, while his teammates Shrestha earned 40, Gurung 35, and Mktan 28 points. Sharma earned Rs 5,000 while his amateur teammates received trophies.

The team of pro Deepak Thapa Magar (33) and amateurs Buddhi Man Gurung (39), Prajwal Gurung (34) and Dr Niranjan Sharma (28) scored a total of 134 points to finish second. The team of pro Dhana Thapa (36) and amateurs Tendi Sherpa (34), Lobsang Tashi (31) and Ram Bahadur Gurung (31) ended up third with 132 points.

Rupendra Shrestha produced best card of the day with 40 points to win the best individual award while Sujan Thapa claim the longest drive award on the 10th hole. Mandip KC bagged the closest-to-the-pin award on the 14th hole. Sixty-two golfers including 16 pros took part in the event played under stableford format with full handicap allowance.

Nepal Professional Golfers Association President Rabindra Man Shrestha, Managing Director of Gokarna Forest Resort Ang Tshiring Sherpa and Chief of Kaski District Sports Development Association Suman Devkota among others gave away the prizes. The main event–fourth under the Surya Nepal Golf Tour 2014-15--ended on Friday with pro Bhuwan Nagarkoti claiming the title with two strokes win over Sharma.

Published: 28-12-2014 10:15

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment