Top guns Tamang, Shrestha, Dhami make easy inroads

  • krishna mohan memorial badminton
- POST REPORT, Kathmandu

Feb 25, 2015-

Top guns including defending champion Ratnajit Tamang,  Bikash Shrestha, Sajan Krishna Tamrakar and Dipesh Dhami advanced to the second round of the men’s singles event of the 11th Krishna Mohan Memorial Open Badminton Championships here on Wednesday.

The Tribhuvan Army Club (TAC) recruit Tamang made light work of Niranjan Devkota 21-9, 21-13 in the match held at Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) headquarters covered hall in Halchowk. Tamrakar of APF overcame Bishal Tamang of TAC 21-11, 21-9 in the first round.  Dhami of TAC downed Riyaz Ansari of Banke 21-5, 21-6 and Shrestha, also from TAC, defeated Sabin Birbal of Bhaktapur 21-5, 21-5.

In the other matches, Sudeep Sedhai of APF overcame Rabin Ghimasu of Bhaktapur 21-17, 21-10, Sanjiv Khadka of Kailali beat Nir Bikram Devkota of APF 21-14, 9-21, 21-19 and Joseph Adhikari of APF dumped Sujan Shrestha of Sunsari 21-11, 21-10.

In the women’s singles, former national cricket team skipper Nary Thapa of Banke sidelined Sweta Giri of Jhapa 21-11, 21-12. Anu Rai of TAC dispatched Sapana Shrestha 21-7, 21-6, Samjhana Sharma of Banke registered a 21-10, 21-13 win over Sita Rai of Sunsari.

Nir Bikram Devkota of APF nailed Saroj Ansari of Banke 21-10, 21-10 in the U-17 boys’ singles category. Rabi Chand of Kailali piped Bamdev Giri of Galaxy School 21-18, 21-17. Bishal Tamang of TAC won the match against Dev Raj Rana 21-11, 21-12 and Milan Acharya of Nepal Police School ousted Chhitiz Thapa of TAC 21-13, 21-12. Praful Maharjan, Nabi Shrestha and Rukesh Maharjan of TAC, Ansari of Banke, Gautam Kathayat of Kailali and Sushant Bhatta of Kanchanpur prevailed in their respective matches.

Dhami teamed up with Suraj Maharjan to defeat the duo of Rukesh Lal Chipalu and Rajan Shakya of APF 21-13, 21-14 in the men’s doubles category. APF duo Sajan Krishna Tamrakar and Sudeep Sedhai beat Purna Bahadur Thapa and Ashish Thapaliya of Kathmandu 21-11, 21-19,  Bikash Shrestha and Nabin Shrestha of TAC edged Santosh Bhattarai and Dinesh Rai of Lalitpur 21-19, 21-9. The pair of Ram Baniya and Suman Singh of NPC and the duo of Sambhu Shrestha and Bikash Khadka of Kathmandu also recorded easy wins.

Published: 26-02-2015 06:34

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment