Keshari bags third gold

- POST REPORT, Kathmandu
Keshari bags third gold

Mar 14, 2015-

Keshari Chaudhary of Nepal Police Club (NPC) continued her domination in track and field winning her third gold medal of the 40th National Athletics Championships at the Dashrath Stadium on Saturday.

After winning the women’s long jump and 100m hurdles in the opening day on Friday, Chauhdary won the triple jump leaping 12.02m. Shila Chaudhary of Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club and Laxmi Shrestha of Eastern Region finished second and third respectively. Aashish Chaudhary of APF and Saraswoti Chaudhary of TAC, meanwhile, won their second gold medal of the Championships.

Ashish won the men’s 400m gold clocking 4.36 seconds getting the better of Himal KC and Mukti Khadka of Tribhuan Army Club (TAC). Ashish had won the men’s 100m final on Friday. Saraswoti cruised to her second gold of the tournament winning the women’s 1500m in 4:56.6. Saraswati, who had won the 800m gold on Friday, left behind Phulmati Rana and Geeta Khatri of Mid Western Region.

Dilmaya Karki of APF won the women’s 400m with a timing of 1:00.78. Tara Malla and Tulasa Khatri of Central Region finished second and third. Hari Kumar Rimal won gold in the men’s 1,500m race clocking 3:57.00. Rimal finished ahead of Lal Bahadur Thapa of TAC and Hare Ram Nepal of Central Region.

Sabita Chaudhary completed the women’s 400m hurdles in 1:10.2 to clinch gold. Sagar Karki of TAC (58.46) triumphed in the men’s category ahead of Bishesh Mahato of TAC and Ramprit Chaudhary of NPC. Chandra Dev Joshi of NPC jumped 13.80m to grab gold in the men’s triple jump followed by Dilli Khatri of TAC and Ashish Chaudhary of Western Region.

TAC ruled the discuss throw after Rajendra Basnet (34.35m) and Amrita Mahato (34.12m) finished first in the men’s and women’s category. Bhumi Raj Rai of NPC and Sonu Jaya Rai of APF won marathon titles.Rai timed 2:23:31 to win the men’s event, while Sonu clocked 3:20.09.

Published: 15-03-2015 08:54

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment