PM’s Office blocks CTEVT affiliation to nursing colleges

- Manish Gautam, Kathmandu

Apr 9, 2015-

The Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) has directed the Council for Technical Education and Vocational Training (CTEVT) not to grant affiliation to 12 nursing colleges as decided by the Monday’s meeting of the council headed by Education Minister Chitra Lekha Yadav.

PMO Secretary Shanta Raj Subedi said on Thursday that the CTEVT decision to grant affiliation to new colleges violates the agreements reached between Dr Govinda KC and the government.

“The affiliation process should not begin until the Kedar Bhakta Mathema-led committee on medical education policy submits its report,” Subedi said. He added the CTEVT was notified about the PMO’s directive on Wednesday.

Among the agreements reached with Dr KC, the government had agreed to authorise the Mathema-led committee to set fees for medicine, nursing and paramedic courses through a scientific method.

Violating the directives, the CTEVT issued a public notice on Thursday stating that it has granted affiliation to 12 medical colleges. The notice states that these nursing colleges shall run their programme from the coming academic year.

The CTEVT had decided to grant affiliation to Mahendra Narayan Memorial Hospital and Kantipur Academy in Kathmandu, Maiyadevi Nursing College in Chitwan, Nepal Sanjivani Institute of Health Sciences in Dang, Padma Hospital and Sudur Paschim Medical College in Kailali, Samudayik Janaswasthya Sewa in Dhangadi, Subhakamana Technical College in Rupandehi, National Human Resource Development Academy in Janakpur, Sindhu Sadabahar in Sindhupalchok, Sujang Hospital in Doti and Bheri College in Bardiya.

Two colleges, including Don Bosco Institute in Lalitpur and Tansen Nursing School in Palpa were also granted affiliation to run electrical assistant and lab technician courses.

Among the colleges that CTEVT had decided to grant affiliation, four do not have their own hospitals to impart practical knowledge.


Published: 10-04-2015 08:32

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment