Schools to remain shut until May 14

- POST REPORT, Kathmandu

Apr 30, 2015-

The government has decided to shut down educational institutions in 11 quake-hit districts till May 14. The closure will be effective in Kathmandu, Lalitpur, Bhaktapur, Makwanpur, Nuwakot, Dhading, Sindhupalchok, Kavre, Gorkha, Lamjung, and Dolakha districts.

Education Ministry Spokesperson Hari Lamsal said classes from pre-primary to higher secondary levels will be closed in the districts as physical infrastructures of schools and colleges need technical inspection.

Earlier, educational institutions were shut for five days following the earthquake on Saturday. The closure, however, has been extended so that teachers could engage themselves in rescue operations and the security of students could be ensured, Lamsal said.

Published: 01-05-2015 09:16

Next Story

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment