Parliamentary team to monitor govt relief works

- POST REPORT, Kathmandu

May 14, 2015-

A Special Parliamentary Committee on Thursday decided to dispatch 14 teams in the earthquake affected districts to monitor the ongoing rescue, relief and recovery activities undertaken by the government.

The committee has directed the 14 teams to submit their report about the current statuses following a detailed study in the most affected districts. The team will consult quake-affected people, deployed security personnel and government officials to find out the situation at the grass-root level. On the basis of the report submitted by teams deployed at the local level, the committee will provide necessary directives to the government to expedite relief and reconstruction efforts.

The Parliament on Wednesday formed the committee to help to speed up the rescue, reconstruction and rehabilitation process. The team consists of four lawmakers and one official in each district and will have to submit their report within five days. Teams have been sent to Sindhupalchok, Rasuwa, Dhading, Kavrepalnchowk, Nuwakot, Sindhuli, Okhaldhunga, Ramechhap, Gorkha, Dolakha, Makawanpur, Kathmandu, Bhaktapur and Lalitpur.

Speaker Subas Nembang, also the coordinator of the Special Committee, said the monitoring of 27-point common resolution motion by government and monitoring tasks at grass-roots will go simultaneously. He also directed the government to provide the details of rescue and relief tasks undertaken by the government so far. The meeting of the Constituent Assembly (CA) scheduled to take place on Friday has been postponed for an indefinite period to let the lawmakers visit the affected districts.

Nembang asked all the parties to send their lawmakers to the affected districts to assist in the reconstruction and rehabilitation process. Committee member and CPN-UML leader Madhav Kumar Nepal said that the committee should direct the government to form a National Disaster Management Authority. 

Published: 15-05-2015 08:19

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment