Janakpur ease to 9-wkt victory

  • prime minister cup
- POST REPORT, Chitwan

Jun 10, 2015-

Region 7 (Janakpur) and Region 9 (Dhangadi) won their respective matches of the Prime Minister Cup Women’s National Cricket Tournament on Wednesday.

Janakpur defeated Region 2 (Birgunj) by nine wickets before Dhangadi eased to a seven-wicket victory over Region 4 (Bhairahawa). Janakpur restricted Birgunj to 67-5 in 20 overs before making 68-1 in just 11.4 overs.

Shova Ale and Anuradha Chaudhary provided a modest start to Janakpur with a 35-run opening wicket stand. Ale lost her wicket for 19 off 29 with three fours. Anuradha then shared an unbeaten 33 runs with Mamta Chaudhary to sail the team home. Mamta smashed 19 off 11 with four hits to the fence. Anuradha was 17 not out from 30 with two boundaries.

Earlier, Sita Shrestha and Anupa Pudasaini (nine) offered a brief resistance with a 24-run third wicket stand but Birgunj failed impress. Shrestha made 15 off 28 with two boundaries. Rojina Aryal chipped in 14 off 32.

In the second match, Bhairahawa were 84 all out in 20 overs with 39 extra runs bolstering their total. Barsha Rana Magar was the only Bhairahawa batswoman to make runs in double figures  collecting 19 off 28 with two boundaries.

Dhangadi replied with 87-3 in 15.2 overs recovering from 43-3 in 9.4 overs with No 3 Nirmala Shahi coming to the rescue. Shahi shared 44 runs with Nirmala Chand (16 not out) for the fourth wicket to shape the team’s victory. Shahi made 31 not out from 27 balls with five boundaries.

In Pokhara, Nepal APF Club and Region V (Nepalgunj) registered victories. APF defeated Region 1 (Biratnagar) by six wickets and Nepalgunj overcame Region 8 (Pokhara) by nine wickets.

Pokhara were 16-6 in six overs before rain intervened. Samjhana Sharma and Trishna Singh picked up three wickets each for Nepalgunj who were 14-1 in 1.5 overs in reply before rain arrived again and were declared winners under parabola method.

APF skittled out Biratnagar for a lowly 48 in 19 overs. Kajol Shrestha (nine) was the leading scorer for the losing side. National champions APF were 0-2 in the first over but Sarita Magar (23 not out) eased their chase.

Published: 11-06-2015 09:20

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment