Janakpur make it to semi-finals

  • PM Cup T20
- POST REPORT, Chitwan
Janakpur make it to semi-finals

Jun 12, 2015-

Region 7 (Janakpur) defeated Region 6 (Baitadi) by 26 runs to enter the semi-finals of the Prime Minister Cup Womenís National Twenty20 Cricket Tournament here on Friday. 

It was Janakpurís third consecutive victory that put them atop the Group ëAí standings with six points, while second placed Region 9 (Dhangadi) have four points from two matches with rest of the teams not in the position to overcome the pool leaders.  Region 4 (Bhairahawa), meanwhile, remained in contention from the pool defeating Region 2 (Birgunj) by 44 runs in the other match from the group. Bhairahawa now have two points and are third behind Dhangadi. 

A 54-ball 69 from Shova Ale was the cornerstone for Janakpur victory as the region made 99-5 in 20 overs before restricting Baitadi to 73-8. Baitadi had a modest start when Manju Bokati (eight) and Dropati Kunwar began with a 27-run stand but their innings never gathered pace. Kunwar top scored with 20 off 34, while Anjali Chand (15) and Samjhana Khadka (13) were the only remaining players to score in double figures. Shanti Chaudhary picked up three wickets for Janakpur with Santoshi Chaudhary also getting two scalps.

Earlier, Janakpur innings was built around Ale, who kept on scoring runs despite wickets kept tumbling at the other end. She completed her half century in 41 balls and struck eight boundaries and two sixes. Chand took two wickets for Baitadi.

In the second match, Saraswati Pun put an allround display to help Bhairahawa earn their first victory. Pun shared 54 runs for the fifth wicket with Indu Barma, leading Bhairahawa to 110-8 in 20 overs. The No 6 batswoman then returned claim 4-18 from four overs to dismiss Birgunj for just 66 in 17.4 overs. Barma also grabbed two wickets. 

Birgunj collected 26 runs from extras with none of their batswomen managing to make runs in double figures. Bhairahawa were reduced to 33-4 before Pun-Barma partnership guided them to safety. Barma made 29 off 45 balls and Pun contributed 24 off 35. Pushpa Aryal (3-7) and Rojina Aryal (2-24) shared five wickets between them for Birgunj. 

In Pokhara, Nepal Armed Police Force (APF) Club were forced to share points with bottom side Region 8 (Pokhara) due to bad ground conditions. APF have five points from three games at the top of Group ëBí while Pokhara lie at the bottom with one. 

Kathmandu, meanwhile, posted their second consecutive win by defeating Region 1 (Biratnagar) by 32 runs. Kathmandu recovered from 37-3 before making 118-9 in 20 overs. Biratnagar, in reply, were skittled out for 86 in 18.3 overs. Only Sabnam Rai (19) and Sangita Rai (13) managed to make runs in double digits for Biratnagar, whose total was bolstered by 22 extra runs. Sandhya Upretti picked up three and Ashmina Karmacharya had two victims for Kathmandu. 

Sharada Wagle lifted Kathmandu innings with a 46-run stand for the fourth wicket with Geeta Chudal before getting dismissed for 36 off 37. Wagle hit three fours. Chudhal made 21 off 25 with two boundaries. Usha Chapagain (3-11) and Sangita (2-18) had five wickets between them.

Published: 13-06-2015 09:06

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment