Nepal elected UN budgetary panel chair

- POST REPORT, Kathmandu

Jun 16, 2015-

Nepal’s Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations in New York Durga Prasad Bhattarai was unanimously elected as the chairman of the Administration and Budgetary Committee (the Fifth Committee) for the 70th session of the United Nations General Assembly in New York.

According to a statement issued by Nepal’s Permanent Mission in New York, Bhattarai will serve as the chair of the committee from the beginning of the UNGA on 15 September to its closure in September 2016.

The Fifth Committee, one of the six panels, is responsible for administration and budgetary matters of the United Nations. Based on its reports, the General Assembly approves the budget of the organisation. The Committee also recommends to the UNGA financial and budgetary arrangements of the specialised agencies. In the 70th session, the Committee will also carry out the triennial review of the scales of assessments to be apportioned to the member states for their contribution to the 2016-2018 budget of the United Nations.

Following the election, Bhattarai said it was a distinct honour for Nepal, and himself, to contribute to the work of the United Nations. Nepal has already served as chair of the Fourth Committee in the 69th session. Bhattarai thanked all member states for their trust in him, and thanked the members of the Asia-Pacific Group for unanimously nominating him for the post. He acknowledged the enormity of the Committee’s tasks in the upcoming session and expressed confidence in continuing understanding and support from all sides.

The Nepali mission said the election provides yet another opportunity for Nepal to

contribute directly to the work of the UN.

The mission also represents Nepal as an elected member of the Asia-Pacific Group of countries at the Economic and Social Council and as vice-president of the executive boards of the Peacebuilding Commission as well as the UNDP and the UNFPA.

Meanwhile, the General Assembly has elected Mogens Lykketoft of Denmark as its president for the 70th session.

Published: 17-06-2015 08:04

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment