3 ex-MPs convicted for PP misuse

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Aug 12, 2015-

The Special Court on Tuesday convicted three former lawmakers—Gayatri Sah, Bishwonath Prasad Yadav and Shiva Pujan Yadav—for misusing their diplomatic passports. 

The court, however, acquitted lawmaker Hari Charan Sah, also father of Gayatri, and former lawmaker Narad Muni Rana whose names had also been linked in the scam. 

A full bench of Justice Pawan Kumar Sharma, Justice Prabha Banset and Justice Mahesh Pudasani handed down a fine of Rs 1,500 and four months jail term to Gayatri, Bishwonath Prasad and Shiva Pujan on corruption charge.  

Court Registrar Bhadra Kali Pokharel said the court has also convicted government officials Devi Datta Khatri, Ramesh Lamsal, Shyam Babu Bhandari and Bhuminnda Bhandari for assisting the former lawmakers. 

Another government official Khadananda Dhakal, who was also accused in the case, was acquitted. Nirmal Baniya, Kedar Nath Sharma and Prithivi Chantyal, who were accused of using the diplomatic passports, were also cleared of the charge.

In May 2011, the Commission for Investigation of Abuse of Authority (CIAA) had filed the case against Gayatri, the then lawmaker of Nepali Janata Dal, and Bishwonath Prasad, the then lawmaker of Madhesi Janadhikar Forum-Nepal, and some immigration officials on charge of misusing diplomatic passports.

Their involvement was revealed after Prithivi Chantyal and another unidentified Nepali woman were arrested with the passports of former lawmakers Bishwonath Prasad and Gayatri by immigration authorities in Abu Dhabi, UAE, in January 2011.

Further investigation revealed the involvement Shiva Pujan, also Madhesi Janadhikar Forum-Nepal lawmaker at the time, in the scam.

In its charge sheet, CIAA had sought Rs 50,000 fine and five-year imprisonment against the main defendants and two-year imprisonment and Rs 50,000 fine against ther co-conspirators. The CIAA had claimed that the accused made Rs 16.2 million in the racket.

Published: 12-08-2015 11:32

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment