Parties yet to sort statute disputes

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Aug 15, 2015-

The major parties are still indecisive about resolving the disputes of the new constitution and the way to respond to protests that are raging in several parts of the country against the six-state federal model.

The Special Committee, which was supposed to find consensus on the issues of religion, threshold and re-appointments at constitutional bodies, failed to meet on Saturday.

Sources close to the heads of major parties said the scheduled meeting was postponed after members of the Constitution Drafting Committee were unable to prepare the final statute draft while bilateral meetings failed to agree on the remaining issues.

“The next meeting will be held on Sunday morning once the taskforce incorporates the agreed agendas in the draft and the meeting of second-rung leaders comes up with an amicable solution on the unsettled issues,” said UCPN (Maoist) Central Committee member Choodamani Khadka.

Drafting Committee members Krishna Sitaula, Bhim Rawal and Narayan Kaji Shrestha are assigned to modify the draft as per the latest agreement among the four parties.

On August 9, the four parties agreed to elect the President and the Vice President from different genders, ensure complete press freedom in the preamble, mandate the Federal Commission to sort technical issues of demarcation, elect a 51-member National Assembly and include the Army chief in the National Security Council.

The UCPN (Maoist) is for forming special autonomous regions for Tharus in Tarai and the Karnali people as committed in the first CA and while addressing their demands in the past. “We need to address the demands of the Tharus by any means,” said Maoist leader Shrestha.

The UML presses for mandating a Federal Commission to give final touches to the delineation of the six provinces. “The existing demarcation is tentatively okay. A commission can be formed if the issue needs more time,” said UML leader Bhim Rawal.

A section of NC leaders are pitching for creating a new province incorporating Rukum and Rolpa from Province 5 and Kalikot, Dailekh, Mugu, Jumla, Humla and Dolpa from Province 6. The parties are also at odds over how to address concerns related to secularism, vote threshold for party recognition and re-appointments at constitutional bodies.

Published: 16-08-2015 09:41

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment