NMS elects new executive committee

- Post Report, Kathmandu
Pushkar Lal Shrestha is elected NMS president after defeating hiscontender Bhaskar Raj Rajkarnikar

Dec 25, 2015-Nepal Media Society (NMS), an umbrella organisation of mainstream media outlets in the country, on Thursday elected a six-member executive committee under the leadership of Pushkar Lal Shrestha.According to a statement issued by Media Society, Shrestha defeated Bhaskar Raj Rajkarnikar with 13 votes against 4 to become the president of the NMS. Similarly, Raju Prasad Kandel and Ujjwal Sharma both were elected vice-president.

They secured 13 and 11 votes respectively. The post of general sectary was declared unopposed as nobody challenged the candidacy of Shuva Shankar Kandel. Madan Lamsal was also elected unopposed to the post of secretary. Shishir Bhatta defeated Lalit Kumar Agrawal to secure his berth as treasurer with 11 votes against 6. Out of 17 votes, one was invalid. Kailash Sirohiya, outgoing president of the NMS, will serve as ex-officio member of the society.


Published: 25-12-2015 09:16

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment