Government told to limit ministries to 18

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Jan 4, 2016-

The State Affairs Committee of Parliament has urged the government to strictly follow the recommendation of the Administrative Restructuring Committee on the number of ministries.

The parliamentary panel has told the government to limit the number of ministries to 18.

The KP Sharma Oli-government has split several ministries, taking their number to 31. The Cabinet has changed the working procedure of these newly created ministries through the Gazette. 

Given the structural and managerial constraints it is urged that the government trim the number of ministries, said the decision of the committee. 

The committee issued the directive to the Prime Minister’s Office and Ministry of General Administration. The committee has asked the government to trim ministries such as Peace and Reconstruction, Land Reform, Youth and Sports, Commerce and Supplies, Environment, Science and Technology, Cooperatives and Poverty Alleviation, Urban Development, General Administration and Irrigation.

Published: 04-01-2016 08:58

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment