NC gears up for PP leader vote Deuba in bid to be unanimous Parliamentary Party leader

- Post Report, Kathmandu
President Deuba, senior leader Ram Chandra Poudel and Prakash Man Singh to compete for the position

Mar 22, 2016-After the election of its party president and key office bearers, the Nepali Congress is set to elect on April 4 its Parliamentary Party leader--the leader of the opposition and the party’s PM candidate in the event of the party leading the government.

While Sher Bahadur Deuba, who was elected the party chief by a wide margin, is trying to forge consensus in his name, at least two other contenders are likely to challenge him for the PP leader. The post has been vacant after the death of former president Sushil Koirala.

According to insiders, Deuba, senior leader Ram Chandra Poudel and Prakash Man Singh would vie for the position. Even Ram Sharan Mahat has expressed his interest in becoming the PP leader, according to NC leader Nabindra Raj Joshi. However, Mahat could not be reached for comment immediately.

As the party president, according to supporters, Deuba has legitimate claim for the PP leadership. “Deuba is not going to withdraw his bid in favour of any other candidate,” said Ramesh Rijal, a Deuba supporter.

A leader requesting anonymity said Poudel had assured support to Singh for the PP leadership during the party’s recently concluded general convention. On that condition, Singh is said to have supported Poudel for the party presidency. Poudel, who lost the election, however, denies any prior understanding with Singh.

“There are high chances of Poudel fighting for the PP leadership,” said Joshi. Lawmakers from the party vote for the PP leader. While the erstwhile establishment camp had a majority in the PP, Koirala’s death has left the camp in at least two factions, while some have switched sides to Deuba.

A party committee led by Ramesh Rijal has started preparations for electing the PP leader. 

The first meeting of the Central Working Committee had formed the committee with Gururaj Ghimire 

and Surendra Raj Pandey as members.

Published: 22-03-2016 08:37

Next Story

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment