Nepal caucus formed in Canadian parliament

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Oct 6, 2016-

The Canadian parliament has formed Canada-Nepal Parliamentary Friendship Group, with the representation from House of Commons and Senate members. 

According to the Nepali Embassy in Canada, member of the House of Commons, Gen Tang, was elected the chair of the seven-member Group in a meeting was led by Deputy Speaker Bruce Stanton on Tuesday. Harold Albrecht and Julie Dabrusin were elected the vice chairs. 

Ramesh Sangha, Raynell Andrychuk (Senator),  Mark Marawa and Jati Sidhu are the four directors of the group. Chandra Arya, Larry Bagnell,  Larry Campbell (Senator), Joseph Day (Senator), Julian Peter, Gord Johns, Robert Kitchen, Larry Miller, Deepak Obhrai, Robert Oliphant,  Michelle Rempel, Mark Serre, Bruce Stanton and Brad Trost are the members.

Speaking after the election, Tang said that besides other regular matters, the group will focus on promoting trade and tourism on both sides. 

Minister for Tourism and Civil Aviation Jeevan Bahadur Shai who is in Canada to participate in 39th ICAO meeting, was also present in the ceremony. 

 Speaking  in the function, Ambassador Kali Prasad Pokhrel said thanked the Canadian government and parliament for the support they lent to form the group. 

The Nepal-Canada ties will be stronger with the formation of the group, he said. 

He said that Nepali Embassy in Canada will work in close cooperation with the group in the future for expanding economic and trade ties. 

Published: 06-10-2016 07:44

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment