Science labs to be set up in all provinces: PM

- Rastriya Samachar Samiti, LALITPUR
Dahal says a prosperous country cannot be built without the development of science and technology

Dec 6, 2016-Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal said on Monday that the government will work to establish science laboratories in all seven provinces. 

Addressing the 34th anniversary and award handover ceremony of Nepal Academy of Science and Technology (Nast) on Monday, PM Dahal, also the chancellor of Nast, underscored the important role science and technology plays in the development of the country. 

“A prosperous country cannot be built without the development of science and technology,” said PM Dahal. 

During the programme, PM Dahal also conferred the Nature Conservation Award-2016 on Jamunbari Community Forest Users Group of Kankai, Jhapa. The award carries a purse of Rs 200,000. 

The forest group was awarded for its contribution in management of safe habitats for wildlife and conservation of nature, wetlands and biological diversities for the past two decades. 

Similarly, Nast Science Award and Nast Technology Award, each carrying a purse of Rs 100,000, were presented to Manoj Kumar Yadav and Surendra Lal Shrestha.

Five individuals were honoured with the Nast Science and Technology Award (Rs 75,000). The awardees are Santosh Nepal from Palpa, Khemraj Joshi from Darchula, Santosh Dulal from Jhapa, Urmila Pyakurel from Sindhupalchok and Ramdevi Tamacho Saha from Saptari, according to Nast. 

Two organisations—Female Community Health Volunteers and Nepal Family Health Programme—and Ramchandra Adhikari of Taplejung were given Nast Science Technology Promotion Award. The award carries a purse of Rs 25,000 each. 

Saraswoti Acharya of Rasuwa was honoured with the World Academy of 

Science Award, carrying a purse of $1,000, for her contribution in the mathematical model of temperature distribution in human male and female dermal part. 

Nabil Science and Technology Award was presented to four people—Tankanath Dhamala from Okhaldhunga, Hari Prasad Aryal from Morang, Krishna Das Manandhar from Kathmandu) and Sirjanlal Shrestha from Lalitpur. The award carries a purse of Rs 25,000. 

Bimala Dhakal of the TU Central Department of Biotechnology and Shree Shyam Kumar Pun of Central Department of Botany were honoured with the NAST Dayananda Bajracharya Research Award (Rs 25,000). 

Also honoured on the occasion were various individuals working at Nast, including Timila Shrestha, Ram Briksha Shah, Chandra Lekha Kayastha, Gopal Prasad Kafle and Ram Swartha Raya. 

Kitazumi Hajumi and Chun Dong Li, who are with Nast for long as volunteers, were honoured with Letters of Appreciation.


‘No alternative to holding polls’

KATHMANDU: Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal said on Monday that there is no alternative to holding three levels of elections by amending the constitution to address the aspirations of Nepali people. Speaking at the 24the anniversary of Nepal Academy of Science and Technology (Nast), PM Dahal said the move of the government of registering the constitution amendment bill is aimed at seeking broader acceptance of the charter. 

PM Dahal, also the chairman of the CPN (Maoist Centre), also laid stress on the need of bringing political stability in the country through elections and then taking the country towards the path of prosperity. (PR)

Published: 06-12-2016 07:53

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment