Nepal claim consolation win

  • acc u-19 asia cup
- Post Report, Kathmandu

Dec 19, 2016-

Nepal signed off the Acc U-19 Asia Cup with a morale-boosting victory over  fellow Associate side Malaysia at the Nondescripts Cricket Club in Colombo,  Sri Lanka on Sunday.

In a match between the already eliminated teams, Nepal beat Malaysia by one  wicket to finish third in the four-team Group ‘A’. Nepal had opened their  campaign with a heartbreaking one-run defeat against the youth teams of  Test giants Sri Lanka before losing to India by six wickets. India and Sri Lanka made it to the semi-finals. Pakistan, Bangladesh,  Afghanistan and Singapore form the Group ‘B’.

Put into the bat first after Nepal won the toss, Malaysia scored 153 in  44.3 overs. Nepal managed to achieve the target only just, after losing  nine wickets in 44.4 overs. Chasing 154 runs for victory, Nepal appeared to be in deep trouble losing  three early wickets of Aasif Sheikh (1), Aadil Khan (0) and Rabindra Shahi  (5). But a dogged innings from opener Avinash Karn (29) and Anil Shah  combined with a 22-run cameo from Dipendra Singh Airee lifted the Nepali  innings.

After some shaky moments where Nepal lost wickets regularly, No 10 batman  and skipper Sandeep Lamichhane (3 not out), batting at No 11, held firm to  help Nepal cross the finish line. Sarraf struck two boundaries and a six in  his 67-ball unbeaten knock. Virandeep Singh claimed three, while Syed Aziz and Muhammad Hafiz bagged with wickets each for Malaysia.

Earlier, Malaysia were themselves on the backfoot after losing openers Fadli Haris (7) and Ainool Haqqiem (1) to be reeling at 8-2 by the fourth over. However, skipper Virandeep Singh rescued his team from a total collapse by scoring a magnificent 75 runs. The Malaysia skipper struck seven boundaries in his 118-ball stay on the crease. No 9 batsman Muhammad Hasif was the next best contributor with 19-ball 21.

Aadil Khan was the pick of the Nepali bowlers with figures of 3-24. Airee and Lamichhane also snared two wickets each, while Rohit Kumar Paudel and Shuvankar Urao took one wicket each.



Nepal 154-9 in 44.4 overs (A Sah 32, P Sarraf 29*, A Karn 29; V Singh 3-29, S Aziz 2-30, M Hafiz 2-39, M Amir 25) beat Malaysia 153 in 44.4 overs (V Singh 75, M Hasif 21; A Khan 3-24, S Lamichhane 2-35, DS Airee 2-35) by one wicket

Published: 19-12-2016 08:26

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment