Broadcasters loyal to ruling parties field common picks

  • community radio broadcasters convention
- Post Report, Kathmandu

Jan 7, 2017-

Community radio broadcasters close to the ruling Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Centre), Rastriya Prajatantra Party and the Madhesi Morcha have joined forces against the CPN-UML-affiliated members at the ongoing convention of the Association of Community Radio Broadcasters.

A joint meeting of media organisations close to four ruling parties decided to field common candidates following an agreement on Friday.

The ACORAB is holding its 13th annual general meeting and sixth convention in Kathmandu. As per the agreement, Kishor Jung Thapa, close to the NC-aligned Nepal Press Union, is contesting for the post of chairman while Govinda Devkota close to the Maoists is running for the post of secretary general. From the opposition panel, Subash Khatiwada and Pitamber Sigdel are fighting for the posts of chairman and general secretary, respectively. The total number of voters is 286.

Minister for Information and Communications Surendra Karki inaugurated the AGM. According to the Ministry of Information and Communications, 702 radio licences have been issued so far. Among them, around 400 are community radios. Nearly 300 of the total licensed radios are in operation.

The government has accorded policy recognition also to the community radio in its National Mass Communications Policy-2073.

Radio broadcasting started in Nepal with the establishment of Radio Nepal in 2007 BS. Radio Sagarmatha acquired the operation licence in 2054 BS as the first community radio in South Asia.

Inaugurating the function, Minister Karki said the government is committed to the development and promotion of community journalism. “Community radio can play a pivotal role for social change,” he said. “The government is preparing to bring a special aid package for journalists, primarily those covering the voices of the poor, helpless and backward communities,” Karki said.

Published: 07-01-2017 07:53

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment