India clinch Twenty20 series

  • Chahal decimates England with a six-wicket haul as the hosts beat tourists by 75 runs at Chinnaswamy stadium
- Agence France-Presse, BANGALORE

Feb 2, 2017-

Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal claimed six wickets to demolish England and hand India a 75-run series-clinching win in the final Twenty20 international in Bangalore on Wednesday.

Chahal recorded his Twenty20 best of 6-25 to help skittle out England for 127 in 16.3 overs. The visitors, chasing 203, lost eight wickets for eight runs in the space of 18 deliveries. The Virat Kohli-led side won the three-match rubber 2-1.

Earlier, scintillating half-centuries from Suresh Raina and Mahendra Singh Dhoni helped India post a challenging 202-6 in the third and final match. Put in to bat in the series decider, India rode on the 55-run third-wicket partnership between 

Raina (63) and Dhoni (56) to thwart the England bowling attack after an early wicket fall. The hosts lost skipper Virat Kohli for two after a terrible mix up with Lokesh Rahul (22) saw the star batsman being run out. Kohli was furious with Rahul for not responding to his call for a single.

Raina counter-attacked with two boundaries and five sixes during his 45-ball knock as he put on crucial partnerships with Rahul and Dhoni. Rahul was bowled by Ben Stokes but the left-handed Raina carried on the power hitting as he recorded his fourth T20 fifty with a six off leg-spinner Adil Rashid.

Dhoni, who smacked five fours and two sixes in his 36-ball blitz, joined forces with Raina as the duo carted the England bowlers to all parts of the ground. Raina fell in the 14th over while Dhoni stayed on until the second delivery of the final over. Veteran batsman Yuvraj Singh also turned on the heat with his 10-ball 27 as he hit seamer Chris Jordan for two fours and two sixes to give India 24 runs in the 18th over.


India 202-6 in 20 overs (S Raina 63, MS Dhoni 56; T Mills 1-32, B Stokes 1-32) beat England 127 in 16.3 overs (J Root 42, E Morgan 40; Y Chahal 6-25, J Bumrah 3-14) by 75 runs

Man-of-the-match: Y Chahal (IND)

Man-of-the-series: J Bumrah (IND)

Published: 02-02-2017 09:20

Next Story

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment