Nepal suffer 10 wickets defeat against Pakistan

  • t20 world cup for blind
- Post Report, Kathmandu

Feb 4, 2017-

Nepal lost to Pakistan by 10 wickets in their fourth match of the Twenty20 World Cup for the Blind at the Delhi Dwarka DDA in India on Friday. 

A day after registering a historic six-wicket victory over South Africa, Nepal crashed to their tournament low 116-8 in 20 overs. Tournament favourites Pakistan, who toppled defending champions India on Wednesday, raced to victory in just 7.5 overs with openers Mati Ullah and Riasat Khan doing all the job posting half centuries. 

Khan smashed 56 not out of just 20 balls with a four and a six, while Ullah clobbered nine boundaries in his unbeaten 50 off 35 balls. Skipper Kritan Duwal was hit for 31 runs in the only five balls that he bowled in the day.

Nepal had reached close to 150-run mark in all their previous three games but they were clueless against a strong Pakistani side who took the first five wickets for just 60 runs. Opener Ramesh Bahadur Baniya (15) was the leading scorer from the top order. Sunil Rana Magar pushed Nepal past triple figures with a 31-run partnership with Duwal (seven). 

The departure of Duwal in the 19th over saw Nepal lose their next three wickets for 25 runs. Rana Magar top scored for Nepal with run-a-ball 40. Lok Bahadur Rana (10) and Padam Bahadur Badela (10) were other batsmen to make runs in double figures. Sana Ullah Khan took 2-20 from one over, while Nepal’s innings was bolstered by 29 extra runs from Pakistan.

Nepal had opened the tournament with a 10-wicket defeat against Australia and followed it with another 59-run loss at the hands of Bangladesh. They will next play West Indies on Saturday. Top four teams after the round robin league will make it to the semi-finals. Nepal, the only non-Test team in the 10-nation evemt will also play India, Sri Lanka, New Zealand and England.


Pakistan 117-0 in 7.5 overs (R Khan 56 not out, M Ullah 50 not out) beat Nepal 116-8 in 20 overs (S Magar 40, R Baniya 15: S Khan 2-20, R Khan 1-15) by 10 wickets

Published: 04-02-2017 08:38

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment