2 comittees, 9 groups formed to implement SDGs

- Post Report, Kathmandu
One of the primary objectives of SDGs is to end poverty and hunger from the world

Mar 24, 2017-The government has formed two high-level committees and nine thematic working groups to implement the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), a set of 17 goals and 169 targets introduced by the United Nations throughout the world, which have to be achieved by 2030.

One of the high-level committees formed by the government is the National Steering Committee chaired by Prime Minister and Chairman of the National Planning Commission (NPC) Pushpa Kamal Dahal. This is the apex body that will guide the country to achieve SDGs. It comprises NPC vice chairman, finance minister, foreign affairs minister and chief secretary of the government as members, and NPC secretary as the member secretary.

Another high-level panel formed by the government is the Implementation Coordination and Monitoring Committee chaired by the NPC vice chairman. This committee will make institutional arrangements to achieve SDGs, approve programmes to enhance capacity at local and regional levels, mobilise financial resources to implement programmes to achieve SDGs, coordinate with stakeholders, and frame indicators to measure and monitor progress of programmes that have been implemented to meet the SDGs.

The NPC member in charge of macroeconomics will work as the deputy coordinator of this committee. This committee comprises, finance and foreign affairs secretaries, and chairpersons or presidents of the private sector umbrella bodies, namely the Federation of Nepalese Chambers of Commerce and Industry, the Confederation of Nepalese Industries and the Nepal Chamber of Commerce, as members. This is the first time leaders of the private sector have been included in such as committee.

“The committee is also mandated to include representatives of civil society and other stakeholders as ‘invited members’ to help implement SDGs,” said Lal Shanker Ghimire, chief of the Economic Management Division at the NPC.

SDGs--a follow-up on Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), which expired at the end of 2015--cover a broad range of sustainable development issues. 

One of the primary objectives of SDGs is to end poverty and hunger from the world. SDGs also aim to promote well-being of all the people, sustainable industrialisation, inclusive and sustainable economic growth, and employment and decent work for all. 

Other goals include: reducing inequality; making cities inclusive, safe and resilient; ensuring sustainable consumption and production patterns; and taking urgent actions to combat climate change and its impacts.

In short, SDGs aim to bridge inequality of all forms, raise access to basic public services, ensure access to justice and promote sustainable economic development. 

To help achieve these goals, the government has also formed nine thematic working groups, which will be chaired by NPC members. These groups will support the two high-level committees and work in areas of economic development, industrial development, employment management, agricultural development, climate change and environment, urban development, social development, physical infrastructure, energy development, peace, justice and inclusive institutions. 

These thematic groups will comprise of members from concerned ministries, the private sector, civil society and senior NPC officials, according to Ghimire.

Published: 24-03-2017 10:34

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment