DPR of industrial area in Hetauda initiated


Mar 26, 2017-

The government has initiated the process of preparing a detailed project report (DPR) to build an industrial area in Mayurdhap of Hetauda.

The industrial area is being established as a part of the government’s plan to build at least one industrial estate in each of the seven provinces in the country. Hetauda falls in Province Number 2.

The new industrial area is expected promote the country’s flagging manufacturing sector and create jobs. If the new industrial area is built, it will be the second one in Hetauda.

Industrial District Management Limited (IDML), a state-owned company which oversees all industrial areas in the country, has selected a joint venture between CRS, Jarsa and ECN to prepare the DPR. Earlier, the Ministry of Industry had allocated a budget of Rs450 million for this fiscal year to carry out works related to construction of the industrial estate in Hetauda.

“Works to prepare the report will start soon,” Sanjay Manandhar, head of the Planning and Development Division of the IDML, said. The joint venture is expected to take around two years to prepare the DPR, according to IDML Manager Nepal Bhusan Vaidya.

IDML has already handed over ownership certificate of 210 bighas (approximately 142 hectares) of land to the project based on a decision made by the Cabinet. Around 100 manufacturing units can be built in this land area.

“Very soon, we will build fences around the land allotted for development of the industrial area,” Manandhar said. The location of the new industrial area is ideal for manufacturing units, as it is not very far away from the highway, according to Nabaraj Aryal, president of Makwanpur Association of Industries. 

“Also, electricity lines could be extended to this area easily,” Aryal said.

The establishment of the new industrial area in Mayurdhap is also expected to help in economic development of surrounding areas such as Churiyamai and Padam Pokhari.

The first industrial area in Nepal was established at Balaju in Kathmandu in 1960 through the support of the US government. Currently, there are 11 industrial areas in the country in Balaju, Patan, Hetauda, Dharan, Nepalgunj, Pokhara, Butwal, Bhaktapur, Birendranagar and Gajendranarayan Singh (Rajbiraj) and Dhankuta. However, the industrial area in Dhankuta has not come into operation till date.

Recently, the government had also initiated the process of establishing an industrial area in Shaktikhor of Chitwan. A Cabinet meeting held on February 14 had approved a decision to set up the industrial area in Chitwan.  This industrial area will spread on around 401 hectares of land.

Published: 26-03-2017 10:05

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment