6 areas in Valley declared restricted zones

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Apr 3, 2017-The Kathmandu District Administration Office on Sunday issued a notice, imposing a ban on protest programmes, including demonstrations and sit-ins, in six areas in the Capital, citing security concerns.

According to the DAO’s notice, areas around the President’s Office at Maharajgunj; Prime Minister’s residence at Baluwatar; Parliament building at New Baneshwor; 

Singha Durbar; Vice President’s Office and Election Commission have been declared restricted zones for protest programmes.

“Legal action will be taken against anyone found violating this notice,” said the DAO in the notice.

The notice was brought out on Sunday morning after some political parties picketed the Election Commission, demanding an amendment to the Election Act for party registration.

Published: 03-04-2017 08:22

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment