Kanchanpur stun Chauraha

  • dhangadi premier league
- BINOD PANDEY, Dhangadi

Apr 14, 2017-

Kanchanpur Iconic condemned national team skipper Paras Khadka-led Dhangadi Team Chauraha to second successive defeat, while Biratnagar Kings coasted to an eight-wicket win over CYC Attariya in the Dhangadi Premier League twenty20 cricket tournament on Thursday.

Kanchanpur scored a lowly 105-6 but remarkably restricted Dhangadi to 94  in 17.4 overs to win the match by 11 runs. The victory was first for Kanchapur in three games. Dhangadi are yet to open their account after two  defeats.

Kanchanpur openers Sunil Dhamala and Sagar Pun had battled to a 57-run opening wicket stand in 13 overs as the batsmen found it hard to score runs freely. In an attempt to speed the run rate, Kanchapur lost wickets in clusters and only a 27-run cameo from Siddhant Lohani helped the team post 105 runs on the board. Dhamala top scored with 37-ball 39 and Pun made a painstaking 20 from 43 deliveries. Lohani remained unbeaten after  hitting two sixes and a four in his 20-ball knock. Ramnaresh Giri and Aarif Sheikh took two wickets each, while Sushan Bhari and Prem Tamang  claimed one apiece for Dhangadi.

Dhangadi lost opener Raju Rijal without scoring a run in the second ball of their run chase but contribution from skipper Khadka (23), Aarif Sheikh (22), Prithu Baskota (19) and Anil Kumar Mandal (12) meant they appeared to be coasting to victory at 90-4 in the 15.3 overs. Dhangadi needed just 16 runs in the last 27 balls with six wickets in hand but collapsed to 94 all out. Man-of-the-match Avinash Karn returned with an exceptional figures of 3-12 off three overs, while Lalit Singh Bhandari and Chandra Sawad grabbed two wickets each for Kanchanpur.

In the day’s second game, Attariya were bowled out for a paltry 92 runs in the last ball of their 20 overs and Biratnagar surpassed the total for the loss of just two wickets in 11.5 overs. Veteran national team allround Mehboob Alam top scored for the national team vice captain Gyanendra Malla-led Attariya with battling 27 from 34 balls. Malla himself was only able to contribute 14 as Karan KC, with  17 runs, was their second best run scorers. Sandeep Lamichhane was pick of the Biratnagar bowler with an enviable  figures of 3-7 off four overs. Jitendra Mukhiya took two while Dipendra Singh Airee and Saurav Kandel bagged a wicket each.

In reply, Biratnagar lost openers Amit Shrestha (1) and Aakash Thapa (1)  cheaply but Aasif Sheikh and Airee completed the chase win a relative ease. Aasif remained unbeaten on 46 and Airee scored 26 not out. Man-of-the-match Sheikh clobbered five boundaries and two sixes in his 37-ball knock. Airee hit two sixes and a four in his 19-ball innings. Avinash Bohara and Sashi  Keshari took one wicket each for Attariya.

The six-team tournament is being held in round robin league with top four to qualify for the playoffs. Of the four teams, top two will battle it out for a place in the final. The losers will get another chance to reach the final vie second Qualifier, where they will play the winners of the Eliminator match between the third and fourth placed teams. The tournament offers Rs 1.5 million to the champions and Rs 700,000 to the runners-up.



Biratnagar Kings 93-2 in 11.5 overs (Aasif Sheikh 46*, A Airee 26*; A Bohara 1-27,  S Kesari 1-31) beat CYC Attariya 92-10 in 20 overs (M Alam 27,  Karan KC 17; S Lamichhane 3-7, J Mukhiya 2-21) by eight wickets

Man-of-the-match: A Sheikh

Kanchanpur Iconic 105-6 in 20 overs (S Dhamala 39, S Lohani 27*; Aarif Sheikh 2-15, R Giri 2-25) beat Dhangadi Team Chauraha 94 in 17.4 overs (P Khadka 23, Aarif Sheikh 22;  A Karn 3-12, L Bhandari 2-6) by 11 runs

Man-of-the-match: A Karn 


Teams    P    W    L    NR    Pts    NRR

Rupandehi    2    2    0    0    4    +1.400

Kathmandu    3    2    1    0    4    +1.167

Biratnagar    3    2    1    0    4    -0.209

Kanchanpur    3    1    2    0    2    -0.450

Attariya    3    1    2    0    2    -0.911

Chauraha    2    0    2    0    0    -0.850

Published: 14-04-2017 09:42

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment