18,572 polling booths set up

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Apr 20, 2017-

The Election Commission (EC) on Wednesday set up 10,640 polling stations and 18,572 polling booths across the country. 

Surprisingly, the election body has decreased the number of polling centres for locations election as compared to 19,875 at the time of the Constituent Assembly (CA) elections in 2013. “We decreased the polling centres because people’s settlements have concentrated in certain areas compared to scattered settlements in 2013,” said Nawaraj Dhakal, joint secretary at the EC. 

Kathmandu has the largest number of polling centre with 686, while Manang has the lowest with 28. According to the EC, the polling centres will cater to a minimum of 23 voters to the maximum of 1,064. 

Top 10 districts  

Districts     Polling centres

Kathmandu    686

Morang    669

Jhapa    637

Rupandehi    543

Dhanusa    535

Sarlahi    501

Kailali    490

Sunsari    485

Nawalparasi    468

Saptari    461

Source: EC

Published: 20-04-2017 07:58

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment