Nawalparasi, Rukum polls in two phases

- Post Report, Kathmandu

Apr 27, 2017-

The government has decided to conduct two-phase elections in Nawpalparasi and Rukum districts. 

A Cabinet meeting on Wednesday decided to hold the elections in those districts which were split during the demarcation process. 

It was decided to include 11 then VDCs, including Sisne and Uttarganga of Rukum in Province 5 and the remaining VDCs in Province 6, according to Minister for Information and Communications Surendra Kumar Karki. 

The ward nos 6 and 7 of Triveni VDC lying in the east of Dawunne River in Nawalparasi districts have been incorporated in Province 4 and those in the west of the river lie in Province 5.

Likewise, ward nos 6 and 7 of Triveni VDC of Nawalparasi will be made part of Binayi VDC and then put under Province  4, according to Karki.

The Elections Commission had also sought clarity from the government after the 

two districts were split recently to address the demands of the agitating Madhes-based parties. The voting would be held in the areas located in Province 4 on May 14 and those in Province 5 will go to polls on June 14. (pr)

Published: 27-04-2017 07:53

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment