MC picks Dongol for KMC mayoral race

- Post Report, Kathmandu

May 1, 2017-

The ruling CPN (Maoist Centre) on Sunday finalised all the candidates for the local level elections of Kathmandu Metropolitan City.

According to party’s Kathmandu district in-charge Lekhnath Neupane, party’s politburo member and in-charge of KMC Sarbottam Dongol has been selected for the KMC mayoral race. 

Unanimous selected to run for the post, 61-year-old Dongol, a resident of Tahachal, has been a popular leader within the party rank and file.

The party was considering an independent and more popular candidate for the post, but eventually narrowed down on Dongol. 

The party has also decided to field Sushil Poudel, party’s member of the national convention organising committee, as for the deputy mayor of KMC.

Poudel has been actively involved in politics since the party led armed conflict.

Neupane said the party has fielded 32 candidates for ward chairs. Candidates for ward chairs are: Pankaj Shah Ward No 1, Ramesh Man Dongol (2), Surendra KC (3), Sharmila Bhandari Siwakoti (4), Sushila Prajapati (5), Jigme Bhujel (6), Durga Bahadur Mishra (7), Ramjan Man Shrestha (8), Narayan Man Lamichhane (9), Ram Prasad Amgain (10), Puspa Shrestha (11), Ram Dongol (12), Ram Sharan Dongol (13), Adeswor Budhathoki (14), Surendra Man Shakya (15), Dilip Onta (16), Nilkantha Mali (17), Bijay Kumar Sharma(18), Rupin Dongol (19), Rojin Sthapit (20), Kalyan Karanjit (21), Manik Ratna Sthapit (22), Shyam Manandhar (23), Surya Shilpakar (24), Subhan Kumar Shrestha (25), Ram Kaji Maharjan (26), Gopal Maharjan (27), Chhabindra Raj Kandel (28), Rewati Prasad Dahal (29), Rabi Bista 

(30), Basanta Kumar Shrestha (31) and Tribikram Karmacharya (32).

Published: 01-05-2017 07:54

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment