Major parties, new forces file candidacies

- Post Report, Kathmandu

May 3, 2017-Major political forces as well as newly formed parties on Tuesday filed candidacies in all four metropolitan and one sub-metropolitan cities across the country for the first phase of local level elections scheduled for May 14.    

The Nepali Congress (NC) has fielded Rajuraj Joshi and Hari Prabha Khadgi for the post of mayor and deputy mayor respectively for the Kathmandu Metropolitan City.

The CPN-UML and Rastriya Prajatantra Party have decided to jointly contest the elections in Kathmandu and Lalitpur for the posts of mayor and deputy mayor.

Similarly, Kishor Thapa and Nirupama Yadav of Sajha Party are vying for the posts of Kathmandu mayor and deputy mayor respectively, while the Bibeksheel Nepali Party has fielded Ranju Darsana as the mayoral candidate. At the age of 21, Darsana is the youngest mayoral candidate.

Baburam Bhattarai’s Naya Shakti Nepal and Upendra Yadav-led Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum-Nepal have jointly fielded Pabitraman Bajracharya and Sabina Aryal for the post of mayor and deputy mayor respectively. Bajracharya is SSF-N’s pick while Aryal represents Naya Shakti. 

Similarly, Nirmal Kumar Thapa and Ritu Sapkota KC of Rastriya Janamorcha are contesting for the posts of mayor and deputy mayor in Kathmandu. 

For Lalitpur Metropolitan City, the NC has fielded Chiribabu Maharjan and Gita Satyal for the posts of mayor and deputy mayor respectively. The UML and RPP have jointly fielded Hari Krishna Banjyankar Suka Maya Tamang. 

Dinesh Maharjan and Hasina Shakya are vying for the posts of mayor and deputy mayor of Lalitpur from the CPN (Maoist Centre). 

In Pokhara-Lekhanath, the NC’s picks for mayor and deputy mayor are Ramji Kunwar and Saraswoti Gurung. 

For Bharatpur Municipality, Dinesh Koirala and Parbati Shah are NC’s mayoral and deputy mayoral candidates.  Devi Prasad Gyawali of UML and Renu Dahal of Maoist Centre have filed their candidacies for the mayoral post. Renu is the daughter of Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal.

Similarly, Divya Sharma Acharya of the UML and Surendra Gurung of the Maoist Centre are vying for the post of deputy mayor of Bharatpur. 

In Hetauda Sub-metropolitan City, the NC has fielded Ananda Ram Parajuli as mayor. The NC here will support Balram Bal of the Maoist Center for the post of deputy mayor. The UML has fielded Hari Bahadur Mahat as mayor and Mina Lama as deputy mayor.

On May 14, the first phase of local elections will be held in 33 districts of Province 3, Province 4 and Province 6 for 283 local units. 


Minister Joshi breaches poll code



Minister for Industry and Nepali Congress leader Nabindra Raj Joshi on Tuesday violated the election code of conduct as he accompanied his brother to submit the latter’s nomination to contest in the local polls from the Kathmandu Metropolitan City (KMC).

Minister Joshi reached Rastriya Sabha Griha to file the nomination of his elder brother Raju Raj Joshi, a mayoral candidate for the KMC from the Nepali Congress. 

The Election Code of Conduct prohibits a minister from visiting the Election Commission’s registration office with a nominee.

Interestingly, Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhee Prasad Yadav was present at the nomination venue for inspection at the time.

Minister Joshi tried to defend his visit, saying that he had gone to the City Hall in the capacity of a family member. 

“Raju is my brother. I have come here as a family member not as a minister,” he said.

- Post Photos: Keshav Thapa, Krishna Thapa and Nagendra Adhikari 

Published: 03-05-2017 07:40

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment