Honour poll alliance: NC, Maoist leaders

- Bimal Khatiwada, CHITWAN

May 7, 2017-

Nepali Congress (NC) and CPN (Maoist Centre) organised a joint press meet in Bharatpur on Saturday to announce their mayoral and deputy mayoral candidates decided as per the election alliance between the two ruling parties. 

The district leadership from both parties formally announced Maoist Centre candidate Renu Dahal and NC candidate Parbati Shah as their joint mayoral and 

deputy mayoral candidates respectively. 

The NC and the Maoists Centre have forged an alliance in Pokhara and Bharatpur for the local level elections scheduled for May 14. As per the agreement, the Maoist Centre will support the NC’s mayoral candidate in Pokhara-Lekhnath Metropolitan City and deputy mayoral candidate in Bharatpur Metropolis while the NC will support the Maoist mayoral candidate in Bharatpur.

The NC activists had staged a protest in Chitwan on Thursday against the party’s decision to forge an electoral alliance with the Maoist Centre. They criticised the party’s central leadership for its decision of withdrawing Dinesh Koirala’s mayoral candidacy from Bharatpur.  

During the Saturday’s joint press meet, the NC and the Maoist Centre’s district leaderships urged their respective party activists and supporters to vote for the candidates as per the electoral alliance. 

Chitwan President of the NC, Jitnarayan Shrestha, and the Maoist Centre’s district in-charge, Ishwor Bhattarai, called on the activists of their parties to support the common candidates. They said that the alliance between the two parties could be forged at ward level as well. 

The NC had earlier picked Koirala and Shah as mayoral and deputy mayoral candidates while the Maoist Centre had registered the nominations of Dahal and Gurung for the mayor and the deputy mayor posts. The NC later withdrew their candidacies to support the Maoist Centre.

Published: 07-05-2017 08:55

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment