Two NLF leaders inducted as state ministers

- Post Report, Kathmandu

May 10, 2017-

Prime Miniser Pushpa Kamal Dahal inducted two more Nepal Loktantrik Forum leaders as state ministers on Tuesday, a day after the party joined the government. 

PM Dahal administered oath of office and secrecy to State Minister for Land Reforms and Managament Yashoda Kumari Lama, and State Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Sumitra Tharuni, at his office in Singha Durbar. 

Another NLF leader Janakraj Chaudhary, who was away in Mugu on party’s work on Tuesday, would be inducted as state minister for Federal Affairs and Local Development on Wednesday.

On Monday, PM had inducted three ministers from the NLF, including its Chairman Bijay Kumar Gachhadar as Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Federal Affairs and Local Development, Jitendra Dev as Minister for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation, and Gopal Dahit as Minister for Land Reforms and Management.

After the Rastriya Prajatantra Party decided to pull out from the Dahal-led government, claiming the major coalition partners Nepali Congress and CPN (Maoist Centre) did not consult with the RPP while registering the impeachment motion against Chief Justice Sushila Karki, those ministerial positions were lying vacant. The ruling coalition had decided to fill in the vacant ministries with the NLF candidates instead.

The RPP leaders had a change of heart after the Supreme Court issued a stay order on the impeachment motion. But NC President Sher Bahadur Deuba had refused to let them rejoin the government in their previous positions after the RPP forged an electoral alliance with the CPN-UML.

Published: 10-05-2017 08:52

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment