Keys to ballot boxes ‘go missing’ from inside court building


May 17, 2017-

Vote count in Sangachokgadhi Municipality, Sindhupalchok, was delayed by five hours on Tuesday after the keys to some ballot boxes “went missing” from inside the district court building.

Superintendent of Police Rabindra KC said the situation got tense after the keys to the ballot boxes from the wards 5, 6, 7 and 8 of Sangachokgadhi could not be found at where they had been kept.

The vote count stopped immediately as the supporters of local political parties began protesting, he added.

An all-party meeting was convened and it decided to break the padlocks since the keys could not be found.  

A CPN (Maoist Centre) leader blamed the election officials for not doing their job seriously and urged the concerned authorities ensure such mistake is not repeated.  

80-year-old elected ward chairman

An 80-year-old Nepali Congress candidate has been elected the ward chairman of Tripura Sundari Village Council-1. Karna Bahadur Khadka garnered 281 votes against 143 received by a Maoist Centre candidate. Khadka has been involved with NC since 1991.

Prohibitory orders issued after NC, UML supporters clash  

DAILEKH: The Dailekh District Administration Office imposed prohibitory orders in Narayan Municipality effective from 7 pm Tuesday till 5 am Wednesday after a clash between the supporters of NC and CPN-UML on Monday night. The supporters of the two parties came to blows after a group of UML members reportedly attacked the house of NC candidate Balaram Shrestha. The NC has accused the local authorities of failing to maintain law and order.

Winner declared with toss of the coin

NEPAGUNJ: An election tie between NC and UML candidates for the ward chairman of Dhorchaur Village Council-4 in Salyan was decided by a coin flip. The toss went in favour of NC’s Dinesh BM and was named the winner. BM and his rival UML’s Devendra Roka had secured 321 votes each. In Dolpa, the victor for the post of chairperson of Mudkechula Village Council was decided by a margin of only two votes, in which Dutta Bahadur Shahi of Maoist Centre pipped UML’s Lanka Bahadur Rokaya. Similarly, a margin of just three votes decided the winner in a race for the chief of Hima Village Council in Jumla. The Maoist Centre candidate, Raj Bahadur Shahi, won the election.

Published: 17-05-2017 08:21

User's Feedback

Click here for your comments

Comment via Facebook

Don't have facebook account? Use this form to comment